Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited
(Stock code: 2356)

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") announces that Mr. Chak-Kwong So (Jack So) ("Mr. So") has been appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 30 April 2025. Mr. So has also been appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director of Dah Sing Bank, Limited, a major operating subsidiary of the Company, with effect from 29 April 2025.

Mr. So, aged 80, is currently an independent non-executive director and a member of the Audit Committee, the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee of AIA Group Limited (listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange), an independent non-executive director, the Chairman of the Sustainability Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Nomination Committee of China Resources Power Holdings Company Limited (listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange), a member of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers of the HKSAR Government on Economic Advancement and Sustainability and a member of Governance and Structure Reform Committee of The Hospital Authority.

Mr. So was previously the Chairman of Airport Authority Hong Kong from June 2015 to May 2024, an independent senior advisor to Credit Suisse, Greater China from January 2008 to October 2022, a non-official member of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers on Innovation and Strategic Development from March 2018 to June 2022, a member of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference from March 2008 to March 2018, the Chairman of the Consultative Committee on Economic and Trade Cooperation between Hong Kong and the Mainland from October 2013 to December 2015, and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Film Development Council from 2007 to 2013. He served as an executive director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council from 1985 to 1992 and served as its Chairman from October 2007 to May 2015.

Mr. So was the Chairman and Chief Executive of MTR Corporation Limited (listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange) from 1995 to 2003, Deputy Chairman and Group Managing Director of PCCW Limited (listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange) from 2003 to 2007, a non-executive director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited from 2000 to 2007 and an independent non-executive director of Cathay Pacific Airways Limited (listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange) from 2002 to 2015.

Mr. So graduated from the University of Hong Kong with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1969 and received an Honorary Doctorate in Social Science from the University of Hong Kong in 2011. He was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star and the Grand Bauhinia Medal by the HKSAR Government in 2011 and 2017 respectively.

Mr. So has not entered into any service contract with the Company and is not appointed for a specific term, but his appointment shall be for an initial term up to the conclusion of the next annual general meeting, and he is eligible to stand for re-election. Furthermore, Mr. So will be subject to the relevant provisions of retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association. The director's fee payable to Mr. So is HK\$460,000 per annum, which is determined by the Board with reference to the levels of director's fees paid by peer institutions in banking and financial services related businesses as well as the time expected of him in carrying out duties and responsibilities for the Group. The director's fee is subject to review by the Board and/or the Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Company from time to time.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. So has not held any other directorships in any listed public companies in the past three years or any position in the Company or other members of the Group. He does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, or substantial or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules")) of the Company, nor does he hold any interests in the shares of the Company or its associated corporation within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Save for the information disclosed above, Mr. So has confirmed that there is no other information that needs to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements under Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and that he is not aware of any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Mr. So has confirmed (i) his independence as regards each of the factors for independence referred to in Rule 3.13(1) to (8) of the Listing Rules; (ii) that he does not have any past or present financial or other interest in the business of the Company or its subsidiaries or any connection with any core connected person (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company; and (iii) that there are no other factors that may affect his independence at the time of his appointment.

The Board extends a warm welcome to Mr. So in joining the Board of the Company.

By Order of the Board

DAH SING BANKING GROUP LIMITED

Richard Tsung-Yung Li

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 30 April 2025

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Mr. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Mr. Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Vice Chairman, Managing Director and Chief Executive), Mr. Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Mr. Nicholas John Mayhew (Deputy Chief Executive) as Executive Directors; Mr. Chak-Kwong So (Jack So), Mr. Robert Tsai-To Sze, Mr. Blair Chilton Pickerell, Mr. Paul Franz Winkelmann, Mr. David Wai-Hung Tam, Ms. Nancy Ha-Fong Chan and Mr. Kin-Sang Cheung (Alex Cheung) as Independent Non-Executive Directors.