The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

大新金融集團有限公司 DahSingFinancialHoldingsLimited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 0440)

CHANGES OF THE BOARD

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited ("the Company") is pleased to announce the following changes to the Board with effect from 29 August 2006.

- a) Mr. Tatsuo Tanaka, aged 56, is appointed as a non-executive Director of the Company, succeeding Mr. Sohei Sasaki whose directorship ceases on the same date. Currently, Mr. Tanaka is the Managing Executive Officer and the Chief Executive Officer for Asia and Oceania of The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. (being a substantial shareholder of the Company with a 12.12% interest held as at date of this announcement), in which he started his career serving various departments since 1973. He graduated from Keio University with a Bachelor of Law degree in 1973. Mr. Tanaka has more than 30 years of experience in banking and finance.
 - Mr. Tanaka was a non-executive director of Liu Chong Hing Bank Limited from August 2001 to November 2003. Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Tanaka has not held any directorships in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.
 - The appointment of Mr. Tanaka as a director of the Company shall be for an initial three-year term which, subject to re-election by shareholders at any annual general meeting, will expire at the conclusion of the third annual general meeting following the appointment. The annual emolument payable to Mr. Tanaka will be determined by the Company's Remuneration Committee.
- b) Mr. Toshiaki Arai, aged 52, is confirmed as an alternate Director of Mr. Tatsuo Tanaka. Currently, Mr. Arai is the Director, Regional Head for Hong Kong and General Manager for Hong Kong Branch of The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. He obtained his Bachelor's degree in Commerce and Management from Hitotsubashi University in 1977 and joined The Bank of Tokyo, Ltd. (now The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd.) in the same year. Mr. Arai has nearly 30 years of experience in banking.
 - Mr. Arai is also a non-executive director of Liu Chong Hing Bank Limited. Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Arai has not held any directorships in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.
 - Mr. Arai has not been appointed for a specific term, and his appointment is subject to the term of employment of his principal director Mr. Tatsuo Tanaka with the Company, nor is he entitled to receive any fee.
- c) Mr. Kenichi Yonetani, aged 55, is confirmed as an alternate Director of Mr. Kunio Suzuki, succeeding Mr. Toshifumi Kato whose alternate directorship with Mr. Suzuki ceases on the same day. Currently, Mr. Yonetani is a director of Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. (a shipping company with its head office in Tokyo, Japan).
 - Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Yonetani has not held any directorships in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.
 - Mr. Yonetani has not been appointed for a specific term, and his appointment is subject to the term of employment of his principal director Mr. Kunio Suzuki with the Company, nor is he entitled to receive any fee.

Messrs. Tanaka, Arai and Yonetani have not entered into any service contracts with the Company. Save as disclosed above, Messrs. Tanaka, Arai and Yonetani are not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company, nor are there any matters that need to be disclosed or to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company pursuant to Rules 13.51(h) to (w) of the Listing Rules. As at the date of this announcement, they are not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of Securities and Futures Ordinance.

- d) Mr. Sohei Sasaki resigns as a non-executive director of the Company and Mr. Toshifumi Kato resigns as an alternate director of Mr. Kunio Suzuki. The Board expresses its appreciation for the valuable contributions of Messrs. Sasaki and Kato during their tenure of service with the Company.
 - Mr. Sasaki and Mr. Kato confirm respectively that they have no disagreement with the Board and that they are not aware of any matter relating to their resignations that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof after incorporating relevant changes of the Board, the Board of Directors of the Company is comprised of Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong as the Chairman, Chung-Kai Chow as the Vice Chairman, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) as the Managing Director, Peter G. Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun) and Kwok-Hung Yue (Justin Yue) as independent non-executive directors, Kunio Suzuki (Kenichi Yonetani as alternate), Tatsuo Tanaka (Toshiaki Arai as alternate), Kosuke Furukawa, John Wai-Wai Chow and Yiu-Ming Ng as non-executive directors, and Roderick S. Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas J. Mayhew as executive directors.

By Order of the Board H L Soo Company Secretary