

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0440)

Notice is hereby given that Messrs. John W. Simpson, David R. Hinde and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung resigned as independent non-executive directors of the Company with effect from 11th June 2004, and were appointed as independent non-executive directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited, a subsidiary of the Company. The Board expresses appreciation for their valuable contributions during their tenure of services with the Company.

All the above resigned Directors confirmed that apart from the change in their Board appointment, there is no special matter relating to their resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

As at the date thereof, the Board of Directors of the Company is comprised of Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong as the Chairman, Chung-Kai Chow as the Vice Chairman, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) as the Managing Director, Peter G. Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun) and Justin Kwok-Hung Yue as independent non-executive directors, John Wai-Wai Chow, Kunio Suzuki (Kazuaki Konishi as alternate), Ryosuke Tamakoshi (Takeshi Ogasawara as alternate), Toru Mitarai (Yoshiki Kaneko as alternate) and Yiu-Ming Ng as non-executive directors, and Roderick S. Anderson and Gary Pak-Ling Wang as executive directors.

By Order of the Board
H L Soo
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 12th June 2004

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in South China Morning Post.