

 $(Incorporated\ in\ Hong\ Kong\ with\ limited\ liability)$ 

(Stock Code: 0440)

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited is pleased to announce the following changes to the Board with effect from 6th August 2004.

a) Mr. Nicholas John Mayhew, aged 36, was appointed as an executive Director of the Company. He joined the Company in 1998 and is currently responsible for corporate finance and investor relations.

Mr. Mayhew has not entered into any service contract with the Company, nor is he appointed for a specific term, but will be subject to retirement by rotation, and eligible for re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company.

Mr. Mayhew is not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Mayhew was not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of Securities and Futures Ordinance ("SFO"), except that he held 20,000 shares of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited, being an associated corporation of the Company as defined under the same part of the SFO.

b) Mr. Toshifumi Kato, aged 54, was confirmed as an alternate Director of Mr. Kunio Suzuki, succeeding Mr. Kazuaki Konishi whose alternate directorship with Mr. Suzuki ceased on the same day. Mr. Kato is currently the Managing Director of Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Limited, in which he started his career serving various departments since 1972.

Mr. Kato has not entered into any service contract with the Company, nor is he appointed for a specific term. Instead, his alternate directorship is adhered to Mr. Suzuki as his principal who will be subject to the retirement by rotation, and eligible for re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Kato is not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Kato was not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Mr. Konishi resigned by reason of retirement and confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter that needs to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company is comprised of Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong as the Chairman, Chung-Kai Chow as the Vice Chairman, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) as the Managing Director, Peter G. Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun) and Justin Kwok-Hung Yue as independent non-executive directors, John

Wai-Wai Chow, Kunio Suzuki (Toshifumi Kato as alternate), Ryosuke Tamakoshi (Takeshi Ogasawara as alternate), Toru Mitarai (Yoshiki Kaneko as alternate) and Yiu-Ming Ng as non-executive directors, and Roderick S. Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas J. Mayhew as executive directors.

By Order of the Board
H L Soo
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 10th August 2004

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in South China Morning Post.