The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

## ● 大新金融集團有限公司 ● DahSingFinancialHoldingsLimited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) (Stock Code: 0440)

## **Profit Warning**

This announcement is made by the Board of Directors ("Board") of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.09 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board announces that it expects its financial performance for the second half of 2008 to be lower due to the current financial turmoil and global economic slowdown.

Whilst the core businesses of the Company remain sound, the Company anticipates that in addition to the impairment provision in respect of the exposure of its main subsidiary, Dah Sing Banking Group Limited, to Washington Mutual Bank announced on 29 September 2008, the impact of the financial and economic conditions referred to above will impact the Company's credit quality, investment portfolio and operating performance. As a result of these factors, the profit attributable to shareholders of the Company for the year ending 31 December 2008 is expected to decline substantially as compared with that for the year ended 31 December 2007.

Shareholders of the Company and potential investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing in the shares of the Company.

By Order of the Board Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited H. L. Soo Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 5 November 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Roderick Stuart Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas John Mayhew as Executive Directors; Messrs. Chung-Kai Chow, Kunio Suzuki (Kenichi Yonetani as alternate), Tatsuo Tanaka (Tetsuya Wada as alternate), Eiichi Yoshikawa, John Wai-Wai Chow and Yiu-Ming Ng as Non-Executive Directors; Messrs. Peter Gibbs Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun) and Kwok-Hung Yue (Justin Yue) as Independent Non-Executive Directors.