Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

## 大新金融集團有限公司 DahSingFinancialHoldingsLimited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 0440)

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Nicholas Robert Sallnow-Smith as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 12 August 2009.

Mr. Sallnow-Smith, aged 59, was educated in the United Kingdom, with masters degrees from Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge and the University of Leicester. He is a fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Mr. Sallnow-Smith is currently the Chairman and an Independent Non-Executive Director of The Link Management Limited (which manages The Link Real Estate Investment Trust (Hong Kong stock code 823)). Mr. Sallnow-Smith was previously a Non-Executive Director of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited (2007 to 31 July 2009), the Regional Chief Executive (North East Asia) of Standard Chartered PLC (2007 – 2008), the Chief Executive of Hongkong Land Holdings Limited (2000 – 2007) and the Chairman of MCL Land Ltd, listed in Singapore (2006 – 2007). He has over 33 years of experience in the finance and treasury field in the United Kingdom and in Hong Kong, and has extensive knowledge of the property industry and financial services industry in Hong Kong.

Mr. Sallnow-Smith has been actively involved in community services and is currently an independent member of the English School Foundation Board of Governors in Hong Kong, a member of the General Committee of the British Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong and of the Council of the Treasury Markets Association, a Director of The Hong Kong Philharmonic Society Ltd. and Asia Youth Orchestra Limited, and the Chairman of Hong Kong Youth Arts Foundation and of AFS Intercultural Exchanges Ltd.

Saved as disclosed above, Mr. Sallnow-Smith has not held any directorship in other publicly listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years.

Mr. Sallnow-Smith has not entered into any service contract with the Company nor is he appointed for a specific term, but his appointment as an Independent Non-Executive Director shall be for an initial term up to the conclusion of next annual general meeting in 2010, when he will retire by casual vacancy in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association and, being eligible, may offer for re-election. The director's fee payable to Mr. Sallnow-Smith as an Independent Non-Executive Director will be HK\$180,000 per annum, which is subject to review by the Board and/or the Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Company from time to time.

Mr. Sallnow-Smith does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, or substantial or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules")) of the Company, nor does he hold any interest in the shares of the Company or its associated corporation within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Saved as disclosed above, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company, nor any other information to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rules 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board
H.L. Soo

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 12 August 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Roderick Stuart Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas John Mayhew as Executive Directors; Messrs. Kunio Suzuki (Kenichi Yonetani as alternate), Tatsuo Tanaka (Tetsuya Wada as alternate), Eiichi Yoshikawa, John Wai-Wai Chow and Yiu-Ming Ng as Non-executive Directors; Messrs. Peter Gibbs Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Dr. Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun), Kwok-Hung Yue (Justin Yue) and Nicholas Robert Sallnow-Smith as Independent Non-executive Directors.