The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) The holding Company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited

(stock code: 2356)

CHANGES OF THE BOARD

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited is pleased to announce the following changes to the Board with effect from 15th March 2005.

a) Mr. Takashi Muraoka, aged 50, was appointed as a non-executive Director of the Company. Mr. Muraoka is currently the General Manager of Planning and Administration Department of Global Banking and Trading Division of UFJ Bank Limited (being a substantial shareholder of the Company with a 12.2% interest held thereof), and has extensive experience in banking business. He obtained his Bachelor of Laws degree from the Tokyo University in 1978 and joined UFJ Bank Limited in 1978. He is also a non-executive director of Asia Financial Holdings Limited. Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Muraoka has not held any directorships in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.

Mr. Muraoka has not entered into any service contract with the Company, nor is he appointed for a specific term, but will be subject to retirement by rotation, and eligible for re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company. Emolument payable to Mr. Muraoka shall be fixed by the Board of Directors pursuant to the authority granted by the shareholders at the annual general meetings.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Muraoka is not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date of this announcement, he is not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of Securities and Futures Ordinance.

b) Mr. Sohei Sasaki resigned as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 15th March 2005 and was appointed as a non-executive director of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited, the holding company of the Company. The Board expresses appreciation for Mr. Sasaki's valuable contributions during his tenure of services with the Company.

Mr. Sasaki confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there is no special matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company is then comprised of Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong as the Chairman, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) as the Managing Director, David Richard Hinde, John William Simpson, Robert Tsai-To Sze and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung as independent non-executive Directors, Takashi Muraoka as nonexecutive Director, and Lung-Man Chiu, Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Dennis Tat-Wang Yau as executive Directors.

> By Order of the Board H L Soo Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 15th March 2005

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in South China Morning Post.