Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited
(Stock Code: 2356)

## **Appointment of Independent Non-Executive Director**

Mr. Lon Dounn (Lonnie Dounn) was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 6 December 2010.

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Lon Dounn (Lonnie Dounn) as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 6 December 2010.

Mr. Lon Dounn (Lonnie Dounn), aged 58, has over 30 years of extensive experience in the banking industry and had assumed various senior executive positions in credit and risk management in a number of banks. During 1974 – 1998, Mr. Dounn worked at HSBC's US subsidiary Marine Midland Bank and held various credit and risk management positions. He was appointed as the Chief Credit Officer of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited and relocated to Hong Kong in 1998 to oversee the management of HSBC's credit risks in the Asia Pacific region. In January 2005, Mr. Dounn was appointed as the Chief Credit Officer of Bank of China ("BOC") overseeing BOC's risk management globally and stationed in Beijing. Between October 2006 and February 2009, he was back to Hong Kong and held the position as Managing Director – Head of Credit Asia of Morgan Stanley.

Mr. Dounn graduated with a Bachelor Degree of Science from the Carnegie-Mellon University and a Master Degree of Science from the Graduate School of Industrial Administration of the Carnegie-Mellon University in 1974. He also attained a Juris Doctor from the Fordham University School of Law in 1981.

Mr. Dounn has not entered into any service contract with the Company nor is he appointed for a specific term, but his appointment as an Independent Non-Executive Director shall be for an initial term up to the conclusion of next annual general meeting in 2011, when he will have to retire in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association but, being eligible, may offer himself for re-election. The director's fee payable to Mr. Dounn as an Independent Non-Executive Director will be HK\$180,000 per annum, which is subject to review by the Board and/or the Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Company from time to time.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Dounn has not held any directorship or other major appointments in other publicly listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years. Mr. Dounn does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (the "Listing Rules")) of the Company, nor does he hold any interest in the shares of the Company or its associated corporation within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company, nor any other information to be disclosed pursuant to Rules 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board

DAH SING BANKING GROUP LIMITED

H.L. Soo

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 6 December 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau as Executive Directors; Mr. Kazutake Kobayashi as Non-Executive Director; Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung, Seng-Lee Chan and Lon Dounn (Lonnie Dounn) as Independent Non-Executive Directors.