Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited
(Stock code: 2356)

## APPOINTMENT AND RESIGNATION OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited announced the resignation of Mr. Keisuke Tahara and the appointment of Mr. Kazutake Kobayashi, as a Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 28 December 2009, due to the changes of relevant representatives in the Board of the Company nominated by The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd., a 15.07% substantial shareholder of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited which holds a 74.13% interest in the Company.

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") announced the following changes in the Board of the Company with effect from 28 December 2009 as a result of the changes of representatives in the Board of the Company nominated by The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. ("BTMU"), a 15.07% substantial shareholder of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited which holds a 74.13% interest in the Company:

(1) Mr. Keisuke Tahara resigned as a Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 28 December 2009, as his service in Hong Kong with BTMU Hong Kong Branch is to expire by the 2009 year end and he will assume other duties and responsibilities as assigned by BTMU, as his principal employer, in Japan.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Tahara confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there are no matters relating to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

(2) Mr. Kazutake Kobayashi, aged 47, was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of the Company, succeeding the resigned Mr. Tahara, with effect from 28 December 2009.

Mr. Kobayashi graduated with a bachelor degree in Economics from The University of Tokyo and immediately joined The Mitsubishi Bank, Ltd. (now became BTMU after several mergers during the last decade) in 1986 after his graduation. Mr. Kobayashi had served as the Senior Manager of BTMU's Executive Secretariat in 2001 and was promoted to act as the Deputy General Manager of BTMU Beijing Branch and Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd. (Beijing Branch) in 2007. Currently, Mr. Kobayashi is the Deputy General Manager of BTMU Hong Kong Branch. Mr. Kobayashi possessed rich expertise in retail banking and corporate banking, with over 23 years of experience in banking and finance.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Kobayashi has not held any directorship or other major appointments in other publicly listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years.

Mr. Kobayashi has not entered into any service contract with the Company, nor is he appointed for a specific term, but his appointment as a Non-Executive Director shall be for an initial term up to the conclusion of the next annual general meeting of the Company to be held in 2010, when he will retire by casual vacancy in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association and, being eligible, may offer himself for re-election. The director's fee payable to Mr. Kobayashi as a Non-Executive Director of the Company is HK\$180,000 per annum, which is subject to review by the Board and/or the Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Company from time to time.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Kobayashi does not have any relationships with any directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules")) of the Company, nor does he hold any interest in the shares of the Company or its associated corporation within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company, nor any other information to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rules 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

The Board expresses its appreciation to Mr. Tahara for his valuable efforts and contributions to the Company during his tenure of office in the Company, and welcomes Mr. Kobayashi's joining the Board and with his expertise and insight, his valuable input in the Board's deliberation.

By Order of the Board
H.L. Soo
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 28 December 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau as Executive Directors; Mr. Kazutake Kobayashi as Non-Executive Director; Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung and Seng-Lee Chan as Independent Non-Executive Directors.